We are searching data for your request:
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.
Nuts are common allergens, but they contain no gluten, eggs, soy or dairy.
Food allergies, lactose intolerance and celiac disease can force you to avoid gluten, egg, soy and dairy products. Such a diet excludes many grains and other common foods, but you can still plan a balanced diet without these foods. Choose unprocessed foods whenever possible, and read the labels on food packages to make sure they contain no gluten, egg, soy or dairy.
Meat, Poultry and Fish
You can eat all kinds of fresh meat, poultry and fish on a diet without gluten, eggs, dairy or soy. These foods provide high-quality protein and vitamin B-12. Fatty fish, such as salmon, herring and sardines, provide vitamin D, which helps your body absorb and use calcium to support bone health. Fish can be an important source of vitamin D if you are not consuming vitamin D-fortified dairy products. Remove visible fat from lean meats and the skin from white meat chicken or turkey before cooking them.
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye, but many grains are naturally gluten-free. You can enjoy rice, corn, flax, amaranth and quinoa on your diet without ingesting gluten. Oats do not contain gluten, but they may be contaminated with it. You can eat oatmeal if its label states that it is gluten-free. For breakfast, try a gluten-free breakfast cereal with fruit and either rice or almond milk. For dinner, serve shrimp stir-fry with brown rice or try gluten-free cornbread with pinto beans.
Fruits and Vegetables
Fruits and vegetables are naturally free of gluten, eggs, soy and milk. Some vegetables, such as bok choy, turnip greens and mustard greens, provide calcium, an essential mineral for building strong bones. These sources can be important for individuals who do not consume calcium-rich dairy products such as milk, cheese and yogurt. Choose fresh fruits and vegetables or opt for frozen ones without added sugar or salt.
Except for soybeans and soy products such as tofu, soy milk, tempeh and miso, legumes are free from gluten, eggs, soy and dairy. The legumes -- which include beans such as navy, kidney, black and garbanzo; lentils; and split peas -- are good sources of dietary fiber, iron and zinc. To incorporate beans into your restricted diet, make black beans with brown rice, enjoy a bowl of pea soup or make your own hummus by blending garbanzo beans, lemon juice, olive oil, tahini and garlic.
Avocados, nuts, and olive, sunflower, safflower, sesame, canola and soybean oils are all rich in healthy fats and are allowed on a diet without gluten, soy, eggs or dairy products. Make salad dressing with olive oil and balsamic vinegar, substitute vegetable oil for butter in baked goods and use sesame or canola oil in stir-fry. Dip vegetables into guacamole, add sliced avocados to salads and sandwiches, and snack on nuts. Fats are high in calories, so use them in moderation to prevent unwanted weight gain.