How to Be Screened for Gluten Intolerance

How to Be Screened for Gluten Intolerance

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Meet with your health care provider to screen for gluten intolerance.

Comstock Images/Comstock/Getty Images

“Gluten-free” may sound like another fad diet, but for people with a true gluten intolerance, it's not a way to lose weight but a way to control gastrointestinal problems. Gluten intolerance can cause acid reflux, bloating, abdominal pain, diarrhea and gas. Eliminating gluten from the diet can improve these symptoms. Being screened for gluten intolerance, which is also called gluten sensitivity, is not as simple as just taking one test. Your doctor can screen for gluten intolerance through a process of elimination.


Keep a journal of your diet and symptoms. Record how you feel after eating gluten, and write down any other symptoms you may be having, regardless of whether you think they are diet related. Take this information with you to your next doctor appointment to help you better explain your symptoms to your doctor.


Discuss the possibility of celiac disease or wheat allergy with your doctor. Testing can confirm or rule out these conditions. Celiac disease, wheat allergy and gluten intolerance are three separate conditions with similar symptoms and diet limitations. According to the National Foundation of Celiac Awareness, as of 2012, no single test has been validated for gluten intolerance, although some medical professionals attempt to diagnose using blood, saliva or stool testing.


Ask your doctor if you should try a gluten-free diet. If eliminating gluten makes your symptoms subside, you may have a gluten intolerance; however, you should not self-diagnose. Schedule a follow-up appointment two to four weeks after going off gluten to discuss the results of your gluten-free diet with your doctor.

Things Needed

  • Journal


  • Gluten hides under many names and is found in a variety of foods and drinks. Read nutrition labels carefully. On a gluten-free diet, avoid foods and drinks containing any of the following: barley, bulgur, durum flour, farina, graham flour, kamut, rye triticale, semolina, spelt and wheat.